Research team

The HFD has been made possible through the collaboration of many people. Two teams of researchers have had primary responsibility for the creation and continuing development of this database. These teams are based at the Max Planck Institute for Demographic Research (MPIDR), Rostock, Germany and its  Laboratory of Demographic Data and at the  Vienna Institute of Demography (VID) of the Austrian Academy of Sciences, Austria. The HFD team benefits from external advice by members of the HFD Advisory Board. The list below includes all current members of the project.


Dmitri Jdanov (MPIDR)
Director of the HFD project, Director of the Human Fertility Collection
Tomáš Sobotka (VID)
Director of the HFD project, Director of the Human Fertility Collection

Core Team:

Aiva Jasilioniene
Aiva Jasilioniene (MPIDR), HFD project coordinator, country expert
Kryštof Zeman
Kryštof Zeman (VID), country expert, methodology
Maria Winkler-Dworak
Maria Winkler-Dworak (VID), STFF methodology
arolin Kubisch
Karolin Kubisch (MPIDR), research assistant

The following researchers are currently in charge of at least one country included in the HFD:

  • Aiva Jasilioniene (MPIDR): Belarus, Canada, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Greece, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Republic of Korea, Russia, Sweden, the United States, Ukraine.
  • Kryštof Zeman (VID): Austria, Bulgaria, Chile, Croatia, Czechia, France, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, the United Kingdom.

Former members of the core team:

Joshua R. Goldstein (former MPIDR Director and the founding director of the HFD), Vladimir Shkolnikov (MPIDR, former director of the HFD), Evgeny Andreev (MPIDR), Pavel Grigoriev (MPIDR), Dora Kostova (MPIDR), Edward J. Nash (MPIDR), Olga Grigoriev (MPIDR), Sebastian Klüsener (MPIDR), László Németh (MPIDR).

Others who have worked for this project or for one of its immediate predecessors:

Dimiter Philipov (VID), Inna Danilova (MPIDR), Ainhoa Alustiza Galarza (MPIDR), Evgueni Soroko, Jude Mikal (MPIDR), Sigrid Gellers-Barkmann (MPIDR).